Video

Assistive Technology

24 Apr

This post, just like my last one about copyright, is something that every educator, not even educator but anyone that deals with individuals that have special needs should have booked marked. I have included videos over everything that assistive technology has to offer as well as a google document that has a short description of the different products.

Hearing aids are not always covered by insurance.

Comfort Contego FM System

 

UbiDuo Communicators

Echo Smart pen

Perkins Brailler

Jaws ScreenReader

Victor streams daisy player

Zoomtext Magnifier Software

Dragon Naturally Speaking

Kenisgnton Expert Mouse

Smartview 360 CCTV

Audio Notetaker Software

Kurzweil 3000

Adjustable Standing desk

3 Responses to “Assistive Technology”

  1. Joey Talley April 25, 2013 at 12:19 am #

    Wow…this post will definitely be regularly used in my future. I love the format of heading then video. It is great for a person like me that has trouble staying focused reading large blocks of text. I still gained just as much information as if I would have read it, it was just much easier and entertaining. Though I don’t use mine often anymore, the Echo Smartpen is an awesome tool, and I like the idea the video gives for using the pen to send a pencast to an absent student.

    I also liked the Ubiduo video for a couple of reasons. I have worked with students that have handwriting that is near illegible, but they are fully capable of complex answers. I have seen a similar system used with great success with children with Autism and I hope to have technology like this available when I am teaching. I have also worked with a deaf student that would have benefited greatly from a system like this. Because there was only one person in the classroom who know American Sign Language (ASL), it was sometimes difficult to communicate with her. This system would have resolved those problems, as the student was proficient in typing and most spelling. This is a great blog and I hope lots of people take advantage of all the information here!

  2. Monique Martinez April 28, 2013 at 4:47 am #

    Great job on this blog post! I agree with Joey! I also find this resourceful and will be referring to this in the future. During the tour of the Assistive Technology lab, I was amazed by all of the AT available at the university. The thing that impressed me the most was the braille machine. I had never seen one before! It was fascinating. I also enjoyed the different technologies that could also be used for students without disabilities, like the EchoSmart pen and the Dragon Naturally speaking software. Both are outstanding resources for students and educators!

  3. Alex May 7, 2013 at 3:11 am #

    It seems as though I really missed out on this day! The one day that actually dealt with special education and I couldn’t be there 😦 I got a different experience, and it’s good to have a blog like this because now I know exactly what I missed out on! Anyone could have missed this day and just used this post to follow up on it because I learned just as much looking at this than I might have being there! You got all the names and info on everything; great job!

Leave a Reply

